Starting Cosima

The kernel program Cosima is a command line program, which is started with an inifile including all parameters. There are several different possibilities to start Cosima:

Using the graphical user interface Cosima Gui:
The easiest way to start Cosima is from the user interface Cosima Gui. The user interface allows a comfortable setting of all the parameter values and the administration of many parameter inifiles. You will find more help for the Gui here.

Double clicking an inifile:
After you have bound the ending *.ini to cosima_gui.exe (mark any inifile - right mouse button - Open with ... - Choose standard program - check Cosima Gui, tick "Always ..." - OK) the Cosima Gui will open, if you double click an inifile and this inifile will be loaded.

Inifile send to ... Cosima Gui
Mark Inifile - right mouse button - Senden to ... - Cosima Gui will open a new instance of the Cosima Gui and loads the inifile. Inifiles may be also loaded into an already opened Cosima Gui per drag-and-drop.

Inifile send to ... Cosima:
Inifiles can also be sended directly to Cosima: Mark inifile - right mouse button - Send to ... - Cosima. This will start Cosima at once without using the Cosima Gui.

Images send to ... Cosima Gui:
Mark one or two images - right mouse button - Send to ... - Cosima Gui will start the GUI and will also set the parameters LeftFileName, RightFileName respectively StereoFileName and InputMode = 0.

Images send to ... Cosima:
Mark one or two images - right mouse button - Send to ... - Cosima will start at once the correction process of the image or the image pair.

Directory send to ... Cosima:
Mark a directory - right mouse button - Send to ... - Cosima will start to process the whole directory. You will be asked, whether the directory contains mono images (ordering L-R-L-R etc.) or stereoimages.

Batchfile:
The use of batch files is recommended not only for advanced users! With the help of batch files, a number of Cosima runs can be started automatically. For that, create at first a batchfile with the ending *.bat and write one command line for each Cosima call. The syntax for one Cosima call is:
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe <inidatei> /<parameter>=<value>.
With <inidatei> is the inifile used for all Cosima runs (you have to create it before with the GUI) and /<parameter>=<value> will set a specific parameter to a specific parameter value. To identify the parameter, the two-letter-shortname must applied here.

Example: Assuming, you want to compare all 6 possible anaglyph methods at the same time. At first, create an inifile anaglyph.ini containing all your wanted parameter settings. Then, create a batch file, e.g. use the name anaglyph.bat for that, and write the following lines into it:
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=3 /AT=0 /ID=_0
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=4 /AT=1 /ID=_1
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=4 /AT=2 /ID=_2
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=4 /AT=3 /ID=_3
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=4 /AT=4 /ID=_4
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=4 /AT=5 /ID=_5
In that example, three parameters are given additionally: EstimateGeometry (EG), AnaglyphType (AT) and IdentOutputDir (ID): The values given here will overrule the values given in the inifile, the values in the inifile doesn't care!
  • EstimateGeometry is set = 3 in the first run, elsewhere it is set = 4. So, the geometric image errors will be estimated and stored only in the first run and will be re-used for the other runs.
  • AnaglyphType get all 6x values from 0 to 5.
  • IdentOutputDir is set to avoid overwriting the resulting images at every run. In this example, the images from the 6 runs will be stored into 6 different subdirectories.
Finally, the job will be started with a double click on the file anaglyph.bat.

Cosima Starten

Das Kernprogramm Cosima ist ein Konsolenprogramm, dem beim Start eine Ini-Datei mit allen Parameterwerten übergeben wird. Es gibt mehrere verschiedene Möglichkeiten für den Start von Cosima:

Mit der Benutzeroberfläche Cosima Gui:
Am einfachsten wird Cosima mit der Benutzeroberfläche Cosima Gui gestartet. Die graphische Oberfläche erlaubt das einfache Setzen aller Parameter und das Verwalten einer Vielzahl von Parameterdateien. Weitere Hilfe zur Bedienung der Oberfläche findet man hier.

Doppelklick einer Inidatei:
Nach dem Verknüpfen der Endung *.ini mit cosima_gui.exe (irgendeine Ini-Datei markieren - rechte Maustaste - Öffnen mit ... - Standardprogramm auswählen - Cosima Gui auswählen, Kästchen "Immer ..." ankreuzen - OK) öffnet sich bei einem Doppelklick auf eine Inidatei die Cosima Gui und die Inidatei wird geladen.

Inidatei senden an ... Cosima Gui
Inidatei markieren - rechte Maustaste - Senden an ... - Cosima Gui öffnet eine neue Instanz der Cosima Gui und lädt die Inidatei. Inidateien lassen sich auch per drag-and-drop auf eine schon geöffnete Cosima Gui ziehen.

Inidatei senden an ... Cosima:
Inidateien können auch direkt an Cosima gesendet werden mit: Inidatei markieren - rechte Maustaste - Senden an ... - Cosima. Hierbei startet Cosima sofort unter Umgehung der Cosima Gui.

Bilder senden an ... Cosima Gui:
Ein oder zwei Bilder markieren - rechte Maustaste - Senden an ... - Cosima Gui startet die Benutzeroberfläche und setzt die Parameter LeftFileName, RightFileName bzw. StereoFileName und InputMode = 0.

Bilder senden an ... Cosima:
Ein oder zwei Bilder markieren - rechte Maustaste - Senden an ... - Cosima startet sofort die Korrektur des Bildes oder des Bildpaares.

Verzeichnis senden an ... Cosima:
Ein Verzeichnis markieren - rechte Maustaste - Senden an ... - Cosima startet die Korrektur des kompletten Verzeichnisses. Es erscheint eine Abfrage, ob in dem Verzeichnis links-rechts Bilder sind (in der Reihenfolge L-R-L-R etc.) oder Stereobilder (z.B. *.mpo). Die Abfrage ist in englischer Sprache.

Batchdatei:
Die Verwendung von Batchdateien ist nicht nur für fortgeschrittene Benutzer! Mit Batchdateien lassen sich mehrere Cosima-Läufe automatisch hintereinander starten. Hierzu wird eine Batchdatei mit der Endung *.bat angelegt und in jede Zeile ein Cosima-Aufruf geschrieben. Der Cosima-Aufruf hat folgende Form:
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe <inidatei> /<Parameter>=<Parameterwert>.
Hierbei ist <inidatei> die für den Cosimalauf zu verwendende Inidatei (die man sich vorher mit der Cosima Gui erzeugt hat) und /<Parameter>=<Parameterwert> eine Angabe zum Überschreiben eines bestimmten Parameters mit einem vorzugebenden Parameterwert. Zur Angabe des Parameters ist der aus 2 Buchstaben bestehende Parameterkurzname zu verwenden.

Beispiel: Angenommen, Sie wollen alle 6 möglichen Anaglyphenverfahren gleichzeitig ausprobieren. Stellen Sie zunächst alle gewünschten Parameter in einer Inidatei, beispielweise mit dem Namen anaglyph.ini, zusammen. Erzeugen Sie nun eine Batchdatei, z.B. mit dem Namen anaglyph.bat und schreiben folgende Zeilen in diese Batchdatei:
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=3 /AT=0 /ID=_0
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=4 /AT=1 /ID=_1
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=4 /AT=2 /ID=_2
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=4 /AT=3 /ID=_3
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=4 /AT=4 /ID=_4
C:\Cosima\Cosima.exe anaglyph.ini /EG=4 /AT=5 /ID=_5
In diesem Beispiel werden bei jedem Lauf drei Parameter zusätzlich angegeben, EstimateGeometry (EG), AnaglyphType (AT) und IdentOutputDir (ID): Die hierbei angegebenen Werte haben Vorrang vor den Angaben in der Inidatei!
  • EstimateGeometry wird beim ersten Lauf = 3 und bei den anderen Läufen = 4 gesetzt. Damit werden die geometrischen Bildfehler nur beim ersten Lauf ermittelt und im Bild abgespeichert und bei den restlichen Läufen wieder verwendet.
  • AnaglyphType nimmt in den 6 Läufen alle Werte von 0 bis 5 an.
  • IdentOutputDir wird deshalb gesetzt, damit sich die Ergebnisse der 6 Cosima-Läufe nicht gegenseitig überschreiben. In dem Beispiel landen die Bilder aus den 6 Läufen in 6 verschiedenen Unterordnern.
Schließlich wird der Job durch Dopppelklick auf die Datei anaglyph.bat gestartet.